Coverart for item
The Resource White elephant : a novel, by Julie Langsdorf

White elephant : a novel, by Julie Langsdorf

Label
White elephant : a novel
Title
White elephant
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
by Julie Langsdorf
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Julie Langsdorf mines wit from the ways that people manage (or don't) to live in close proximity. Her smart, enjoyable suburban comedy is observant and knowing about social selves and hidden selves, and the ways in which they are sometimes made to overlap."?Meg Wolitzer, author of The Female Persuasion "A smart, riveting look at what happens to a community when competing visions of the American Dream collide and combust. Langsdorf is a keen observer of human frailty and desire and her characters are darkly funny, recognizably exasperating and deeply memorable."?Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest "Lively and entertaining ... This ambitious and intriguing work about the American suburbs is perfect for fans of Ann Patchett or Meg Wolitzer."?Publishers Weekly The White Elephant looms large over the quaint suburban town of Willard Park: a gaudy, newly constructed behemoth of a home, it soars over the neighborhood, dwarfing the houses that surround it. When owner Nick Cox cuts down Allison and Ted Millers' precious red maple?in an effort to make his unsightly property more appealing to buyers?their once serene town becomes a battleground. While tensions between Ted and Nick escalate, other dysfunctions abound: Allison finds herself compulsively drawn to the man who is threatening to upend her quietly organized life. A lawyer with a pot habit and a serious midlife crisis skirts his responsibilities. And in a quest for popularity, a teenage girl gets caught up in a not-so-harmless prank. Newcomers and longtime residents alike begin to clash in conflicting pursuits of the American Dream, with trees mysteriously uprooted, fires set, fingers pointed, and lines drawn. White Elephant is an uproarious, tangled-web tale of neighbor hating neighbor (and neighbor falling head over heels for neighbor). Soon, peaceful Willard Park becomes a tinderbox with nowhere to go but up in flames
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Langsdorf, Julie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3612.A5847
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Suburban life
  • Suburban life
Label
White elephant : a novel, by Julie Langsdorf
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062857774
Lccn
2018024191
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
13222506-efc0-4286-a94e-c9af18360b5f
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1037893150
  • on1037893150
Label
White elephant : a novel, by Julie Langsdorf
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062857774
Lccn
2018024191
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
13222506-efc0-4286-a94e-c9af18360b5f
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1037893150
  • on1037893150

Library Locations

  • Delaware County District LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...