Coverart for item
The Resource When breath becomes air, Paul Kalanithi, (cd)

When breath becomes air, Paul Kalanithi, (cd)

Label
When breath becomes air
Title
When breath becomes air
Statement of responsibility
Paul Kalanithi
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naiv̈e medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. Advance praise for When Breath Becomes Air "Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande "Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
Midwest
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kalanithi, Paul
Format of music
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Sunil Malhotra, Cassandra Campbell
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Malhotra, Sunil
  • Campbell, Cassandra
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Kalanithi, Paul
  • Lungs
  • Neurosurgeons
  • Married people
  • CD
Target audience
adult
Label
When breath becomes air, Paul Kalanithi, (cd)
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
4 3/4 in.
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
5 sound discs (336 min.)
Isbn
9780399566189
Isbn Type
:
Lccn
925473796
Other control number
9780399566189
Other physical details
digital
Publisher number
11379932
System control number
(MWT)MWT11379932
Label
When breath becomes air, Paul Kalanithi, (cd)
Publication
Dimensions
4 3/4 in.
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
5 sound discs (336 min.)
Isbn
9780399566189
Isbn Type
:
Lccn
925473796
Other control number
9780399566189
Other physical details
digital
Publisher number
11379932
System control number
(MWT)MWT11379932

Library Locations

  • Delaware County District LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659