Coverart for item
The Resource The library of lost and found, Phaedra Patrick

The library of lost and found, Phaedra Patrick

Label
The library of lost and found
Title
The library of lost and found
Statement of responsibility
Phaedra Patrick
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Librarian Martha Storm has always found it easier to connect with books than people--though not for lack of trying. She keeps careful lists of how to help others in her superhero-themed notebook. And yet, sometimes it feels like she's invisible. All of that changes when a book of fairy tales arrives on her doorstep. Inside, Martha finds a dedication written to her by her best friend--her grandmother Zelda--who died under mysterious circumstances years earlier. When Martha discovers a clue within the book that her grandmother may still be alive, she becomes determined to discover the truth. As she delves deeper into Zelda's past, she unwittingly reveals a family secret that will change her life forever"--
Tone
Writing style
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2019.
Review
  • Martha Storm volunteers at the local library and has a tendency to help others over taking care of herself. One day she receives a mysterious book from the grandmother she believed dead and begins digging into her family's past. Who doesn't love a book about books? For fans of Elizabeth Berg and Fredrik Backman. -- Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library, Genesee, MI. (LibraryReads, March 2019)
  • An introverted librarian opens a book into a fantasy world that also reveals secrets from her grandmother’s past in this pleasing novel from Patrick (Rise and Shine). In addition to volunteering at the library, Martha Storm also helps the people in her small, unnamed seaside village with small tasks. With her parents long dead, she lives in her childhood home, surrounded by her neighbor’s stuff that she has promised to mend and store. One evening, after returning from the library, she finds a small package at her door containing a book of fantastical short stories. Inside is a handwritten inscription from her grandmother Zelda, who died under mysterious circumstances years before the date of the inscription. Martha sets off to discover where the mysterious book came from and what happened to her grandmother, the one person who ever encouraged her to explore her creativity. Along with a handful of quirky supporting characters—including divorcée Brenda, bookseller and fellow book lover Owen, and lovesick Suki—Martha breaks out of her shell as she starts to piece together her grandmother’s life in the small village. With a happy ending that is hinted from the beginning, Patrick’s novel is just the kind of charming story Martha loves to read. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed 12/03/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 49, p)
  • A mousy, lovelorn librarian uncovers her family's well-kept secrets, finding herself in the process. Martha Storm has spent her life in the English coastal town of Sandshift, catering to the needs and whims of others. The library's denizens, the library manager, even her own sister, Lilian, take shameless advantage of her. In her younger days, Martha, now middle-aged, let the love of her life slip away, choosing to move in with and care for her aging parents. They're gone now, as is her eccentric grandma Zelda, the only person who ever seemed to understand and protect her. Zelda also encouraged her gift for storytelling, which Martha has long since abandoned. One day, a book turns up with a curious inscription and the unmistakable suggestion that her beloved Nana may still be alive. Though Lilian pooh-poohs the discovery, Martha finds the gumption to get to the bottom of the mystery. Like the author's previous novels (Rise and Shine, Benedict Stone, 2017, etc.), this one features a timid protagonist who must learn self-assertion. But here, charm is in short supply. Much of the action is predictable, the dialogue stilted: Children don't sound anything like children, and the library assistant, Suki, is given to unlikely malapropisms. The author juxtaposes scenes from Martha's childhood with the contemporary narrative, and her controlling, emotionally remote father comes off as a cardboard villain. Everything about this book is old-fashioned, so when the author inserts a couple of contemporary notes—a subplot involving a lesbian couple; a reference to Spotify—it feels jarring. The book also goes on a bit—the eleventh-hour plot turn involving the old fisherman Siegfried could have been condensed or cut. Though the novel celebrates libraries and storytelling, the story it tells is not very satisfying. (Kirkus Reviews, January 1, 2019)
Assigning source
Publisher marketing
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10760030
Cataloging source
MLSOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Patrick, Phaedra
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women librarians
  • Family secrets
  • Self-realization
Target audience
general
Label
The library of lost and found, Phaedra Patrick
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
348 pages
Isbn
9780778369356
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
System control number
(OCoLC)1060705721
Label
The library of lost and found, Phaedra Patrick
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
348 pages
Isbn
9780778369356
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
System control number
(OCoLC)1060705721

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...