Coverart for item
The Resource The Rules of Survival, Nancy Werlin, (electronic resource)

The Rules of Survival, Nancy Werlin, (electronic resource)

Label
The Rules of Survival
Title
The Rules of Survival
Statement of responsibility
Nancy Werlin
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
This National Book Award Finalist is a thought-provoking exploration of emotional abuse, self-reliance and the nature of evil. A heart-wrenching portrait of family crisis, this is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak and Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why . For Matt and his sisters, life with their cruel, physically abusive mother is a day-to-day struggle for survival. But then Matt witnesses a man named Murdoch coming to a child's rescue in a convenience store; and for the first time, he feels a glimmer of hope. Then, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matt's mother. Life is suddenly almost good. But the relief lasts only a short time. When Murdoch inevitable breaks up with their mother, Matt knows that he'll need to take some action. Can he call upon Murdoch to be his hero? Or will Matt have to take measures into his own hands? A gripping, powerful novel that will stay with you long after you've read it. Nancy Werlin, the New York Times Bestselling author of Impossible , shows why she is a master of her genre. "[A] dark but hopeful tale, with pacing and suspense guaranteed to leave readers breathlessly turning the pages."— Booklist (starred review) "Beautifully framed as a letter from Matthew to his younger sister, the suspense is paced to keep Matthew's survival and personal revelations chock-full of dramatic tension. Bring tissues."— Kirkus (starred review) "Grace and insight."— School Library Journal (starred review) National Book Award Finalist LA Times Book Prize Finalist ALA Best Books of the Year ALA Quick Pick
Summary
Seventeen-year-old Matthew recounts his attempts, starting at a young age, to free himself and his sisters from the grip of their emotionally and physically abusive mother
Theme
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Award
  • School Library Journal Best Books, 2006.
  • YALSA Best Books for Young Adults, 2007
  • YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, 2007
  • YALSA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults, 2010
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
148182
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Werlin, Nancy
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
660
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • Young Adult Literature
Target audience
adolescent
Label
The Rules of Survival, Nancy Werlin, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781101576267
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
10883edd-183a-47ee-bf0e-ff71ff6d090d
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Label
The Rules of Survival, Nancy Werlin, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781101576267
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
10883edd-183a-47ee-bf0e-ff71ff6d090d
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...