Coverart for item
The Resource The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole, Michelle Cuevas, (electronic resource)

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole, Michelle Cuevas, (electronic resource)

Label
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole
Title
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole
Statement of responsibility
Michelle Cuevas
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
A girl's friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses . When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl Sagan's Golden Record, something unexpected happens: A black hole follows her home, and sets out to live in her house as a pet. The black hole swallows everything he touches, which is challenging to say the least—but also turns out to be a convenient way to get rid of those items that Stella doesn't want around. Soon the ugly sweaters her aunt has made for her all disappear within the black hole, as does the smelly class hamster she's taking care of, and most important, all the reminders of her dead father that are just too painful to have around. It's not until Stella, her younger brother, Cosmo, the family puppy, and even the bathroom tub all get swallowed up by the black hole that Stella comes to realize she has been letting her own grief consume her. And that's not the only thing she realizes as she attempts to get back home. This is an astonishingly original and funny adventure with a great big heart
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cuevas, Michelle
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Juvenile Fiction
  • Juvenile Literature
Label
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole, Michelle Cuevas, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780399539152
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
4ca06acc-b475-4122-aec9-9a1fc04c49b5
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Label
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole, Michelle Cuevas, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780399539152
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
4ca06acc-b475-4122-aec9-9a1fc04c49b5
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

  • Delaware County District LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...