Coverart for item
The Resource Swimming for sunlight, Allie Larkin

Swimming for sunlight, Allie Larkin

Label
Swimming for sunlight
Title
Swimming for sunlight
Statement of responsibility
Allie Larkin
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody of her fearful, faithful rescue dog, Barkimedes. While she figures out what to do next, she heads back to Florida to live with her grandmother, Nan. But Katie quickly learns there's a lot she doesn't know about Nan--like the fact that in her youth Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside attraction show, swimming and dancing underwater with a close-knit cast of talented women. Although most of the mermaids have since lost touch, Katie helps Nan search for her old friends on Facebook, sparking hopes for a reunion show. Katie is up for making some fabulous costumes, but first, she has to contend with her crippling fear of water. As Katie's college love Luca, a documentary filmmaker, enters the fray, Katie struggles to balance her hopes with her anxiety, and begins to realize just how much Bark's fears are connected to her own, in this thoughtful, charming novel about hope after loss and friendships that span generations"--
Summary
"When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie's grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother's troupe of underwater performers--finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook."--
Theme
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10776782
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Larkin, Allie
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Costume designers
  • Fear
  • Dogs
  • Friendship
  • Divorced women
  • Grandmothers
  • Florida
Target audience
general
Label
Swimming for sunlight, Allie Larkin
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Includes a reader's guide with discussion questions and a conversation with the author
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First Touchstone trade paperback edition.
Extent
334 pages
Isbn
9781501198489
Lccn
2018028792
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1042075801
Label
Swimming for sunlight, Allie Larkin
Publication
Note
Includes a reader's guide with discussion questions and a conversation with the author
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First Touchstone trade paperback edition.
Extent
334 pages
Isbn
9781501198489
Lccn
2018028792
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1042075801

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...