Coverart for item
The Resource She lies in wait : a novel, Gytha Lodge, (electronic resource)

She lies in wait : a novel, Gytha Lodge, (electronic resource)

Label
She lies in wait : a novel
Title
She lies in wait
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Gytha Lodge
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust? A teen girl is missing after a night of partying; thirty years later, the discovery of her body reopens a cold case in an absorbing novel featuring a small-town cop determined to finally get to the truth?for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson. On a scorching July night in 1983, a group of teenagers goes camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and the youngest of the group?Aurora Jackson?is delighted to be allowed to tag along. The evening starts like any other?they drink, they dance, they fight, they kiss. Some of them slip off into the woods in pairs, others are left jealous and heartbroken. But by morning, Aurora has disappeared. Her friends claim that she was safe the last time they saw her, right before she went to sleep. An exhaustive investigation is launched, but no trace of the teenager is ever found. Thirty years later, Aurora's body is unearthed in a hideaway that only the six friends knew about, and Jonah Sheens is put in charge of solving the long-cold case. Back in 1983, as a young cop in their small town, he had known the teenagers?including Aurora?personally, even before taking part in the search. Now he's determined to finally get to the truth of what happened that night. Sheens's investigation brings the members of the camping party back to the forest, where they will be confronted once again with the events that left one of them dead, and all of them profoundly changed forever. This searing, psychologically captivating novel marks the arrival of a dazzling new talent, and the start of a new series featuring Detective Chief Inspector Jonah Sheens. Advance praise for She Lies in Wait "The mystery intrigues and twists, offering enough red herrings and moments of police procedural to please fans of the genre." ? Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Neatly plotted and nicely atmospheric . . . This British import is plausible and eminently satisfying. Encore, please." ? Booklist "A dark, deep, terrific thriller and a scorching portrait of friendship and its betrayal." ?Nicci French, author of Day of the Dead "A superior crime book . . . I loved it." ?Marian Keyes, author of The Break " She Lies in Wait delivers on just about every level?a killer premise, an absorbing plot that twists and turns at just the right pace, and a lead detective who has hit the page fully formed and instantly likeable. One to watch!" ?Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little Lies
Summary
The discovery of the body of a teen who went missing in the woods 30 years earlier reopens a cold case for a local police officer, who makes contact with six people from his past to uncover what happened
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10748841
Cataloging source
B@L
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lodge, Gytha
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6112.O275
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Murder
  • Cold cases (Criminal investigation)
  • Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Suspense
  • Thriller
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Target audience
adult
Label
She lies in wait : a novel, Gytha Lodge, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781984817365
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
e99a8e48-10b0-4ca2-b11a-fecdf2267caf
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1080673848
  • on1080673848
  • 3139577
Label
She lies in wait : a novel, Gytha Lodge, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781984817365
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
e99a8e48-10b0-4ca2-b11a-fecdf2267caf
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1080673848
  • on1080673848
  • 3139577

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...