Coverart for item
The Resource Qualityland, Marc-Uwe Kling ; translated from the German into English by Jamie Lee Searle

Qualityland, Marc-Uwe Kling ; translated from the German into English by Jamie Lee Searle

Label
Qualityland
Title
Qualityland
Statement of responsibility
Marc-Uwe Kling ; translated from the German into English by Jamie Lee Searle
Title variation
Quality land
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • ger
  • eng
Summary
Welcome to QualityLand, the best country on Earth. Here, a universal ranking system determines the social advantages and career opportunities of every member of society. An automated matchmaking service knows the best partners for everyone and helps with the break up when your ideal match (frequently) changes. And the foolproof algorithms of the biggest, most successful company in the world, TheShop, know what you want before you do and conveniently deliver to your doorstep before you even order it. In QualityCity, Peter Jobless is a machine scrapper who can't quite bring himself to destroy the imperfect machines sent his way, and has become the unwitting leader of a band of robotic misfits hidden in his home and workplace. One day, Peter receives a product from TheShop that he absolutely, positively knows he does not want, and which he decides, at great personal cost, to return. The only problem: doing so means proving the perfect algorithm of TheShop wrong, calling into question the very foundations of QualityLand itself. Qualityland, Marc-Uwe Kling's first book to be translated into English, is a brilliantly clever, illuminating satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, and George Orwell that offers a visionary, frightening, and all-too funny glimpse at a near future we may be hurtling toward faster than it's at all comfortable to admit. So why delay any longer? TheShop already knows you're going to love this book. You may as well head to the cash register, crack the covers, and see why that is for yourself
Member of
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10831707
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kling, Marc-Uwe
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Romanelli, Jamie Searle
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Artificial intelligence
Target audience
general
Label
Qualityland, Marc-Uwe Kling ; translated from the German into English by Jamie Lee Searle
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Grand Central Publishing edition.
Extent
339 pages
Isbn
9781538732960
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)on1133275570
Label
Qualityland, Marc-Uwe Kling ; translated from the German into English by Jamie Lee Searle
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Grand Central Publishing edition.
Extent
339 pages
Isbn
9781538732960
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)on1133275570

Library Locations

  • Delaware County District LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...