Coverart for item
The Resource Pocketbooks and pistols, Dorothy Howell

Pocketbooks and pistols, Dorothy Howell

Label
Pocketbooks and pistols
Title
Pocketbooks and pistols
Statement of responsibility
Dorothy Howell
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Haley Randolph isn't exactly a model sales clerk at Holt's Department Store. But when the corporate office acquires a high-end boutique chain and extends a juicy discount to employees, the fashionista will do anything-maybe even a little hard work-to keep the part-time gig and clinch a Mystique handbag, the season's absolute must-have, at a heart-stopping price... With the extra duties she's taking on, Haley's positioning herself to be Employee of the Month. But when Haley discovers former Holt's employee Asha McLean shot dead behind the store during orientation training, it turns out there's more to die for than hot designer deals. The ensuing negative publicity could force Holt's to close its doors permanently, sinking the surrounding shopping center-and Haley's job-into oblivion. Haley can't fathom why anyone would harm Asha-until she learns that her former coworker, who secretly lived in Sherman Oaks and owned a mint BMW, was seriously shady. Upon closer inspection, Asha's duplicitous lifestyle not only earned lots of cash, but plenty of mortal enemies. As authorities question her innocence and business wanes, Haley's desperate to sack the murderer and save Holt's in time. Otherwise, instead of rocking a Mystique, Haley might end up full of holes-or worse, locked away in a very unflattering shade of orange... PRAISE FOR DOROTHY HOWELL AND HER HALEY RANDOLPH MYSTERIES! BEACH BAGS AND BURGLARIES "A fun, lighthearted whodunit."-The Mystery Gazette EVENING BAGS AND EXECUTIONS "Enjoyablean unlikely but engaging sleuth."-Publishers Weekly TOTE BAGS AND Toe TAGS "The well-crafted plot, humor, and designer details will appeal to fans of Laura Levine and MaryJanice Davidson."-Booklist CLUTCHES AND CURSES "Frothy.The well-crafted plot offers plenty of red herrings."-Publishers Weekly SHOULDER BAGS AND SHOOTINGS "Recommend this series to fans of lightweight, humorous mysteries."-Booklist PURSES AND POISON "A treat for those with a passion for fashion. No doubt this sassy heroine's in for a long run."-Kirkus Reviews HANDBAGS AND HOMICIDE "Fashionistas take note: Dorothy Howell's delightful Handbags and Homicide dangles shopping to die for and a murder in store in a breezy debut mystery as sure to please as a Notorious handbag."-Carolyn Hart
Member of
Summary
When Haley Randolph discovers former Holt's Department Store employee Asha McLean shot dead behind the store during orientation training, she must sort through the woman's shady, secret life to find the killer and save the store's reputation and her job
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10532519
Cataloging source
YDX
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Howell, Dorothy
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3608.O9525
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Haley Randolph mystery
Series volume
9
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women detectives
  • Murder
  • Randolph, Haley (Fictitious character)
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • Murder
  • Randolph, Haley (Fictitious character)
  • Women detectives
  • Secrets
  • California, Southern
  • California, Southern
Target audience
adult
Label
Pocketbooks and pistols, Dorothy Howell
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780758295057
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
a0dbe880-d162-47ea-86b0-84728358b6c4
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)961249871
  • ocn961249871
  • 3027975
Label
Pocketbooks and pistols, Dorothy Howell
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780758295057
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
a0dbe880-d162-47ea-86b0-84728358b6c4
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)961249871
  • ocn961249871
  • 3027975

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...