Coverart for item
The Resource Love & Other Carnivorous Plants, Florence Gonsalves, (electronic resource)

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants, Florence Gonsalves, (electronic resource)

Label
Love & Other Carnivorous Plants
Title
Love & Other Carnivorous Plants
Statement of responsibility
Florence Gonsalves
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A darkly funny debut for fans of Becky Albertalli, Matthew Quick, and Ned Vizzini about a nineteen-year-old girl who's consumed by love, grief, and the many-tentacled beast of self-destructive behavior. Freshman year at Harvard was the most anticlimactic year of Danny's life. She's failing pre-med and drifting apart from her best friend. One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity. When she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl who she met in rehab for an eating disorder, she finally feels like she might be finding a new sense of self. But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her as she struggles to discover who that self really is. With a starkly memorable voice that's at turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Love and Other Carnivorous Plants brilliantly captures the painful turning point between an adolescence that's slipping away and the overwhelming uncertainty of the future
Summary
"Nineteen-year-old Danny returns home after a disastrous first semester of college as a pre-med student and struggles with first love, grief, identity, and self-destructive behavior"--
Theme
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
Booklist Editors’ Choice: Books for Youth, 2018.
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10658965
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Gonsalves, Florence
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
890
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Romance
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • Young Adult Literature
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Love & Other Carnivorous Plants, Florence Gonsalves, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780316436717
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
720e1296-7567-45d6-8f19-55063ddd0f38
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Label
Love & Other Carnivorous Plants, Florence Gonsalves, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780316436717
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
720e1296-7567-45d6-8f19-55063ddd0f38
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...