Coverart for item
The Resource I'll be your blue sky, Marisa de los Santos

I'll be your blue sky, Marisa de los Santos

Label
I'll be your blue sky
Title
I'll be your blue sky
Statement of responsibility
Marisa de los Santos
Title variation
I will be your blue sky
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
On the weekend of her wedding, Clare Hobbes meets an elderly woman named Edith Herron. During the course of a single conversation, Edith gives Clare the courage to do what she should have done months earlier: break off her engagement to her charming, yet overly possessive, fianc©♭. Three weeks later, Clare learns that Edith has died--and has given her another gift. Nestled in crepe myrtle and hydrangea and perched at the marshy edge of a bay in a small seaside town in Delaware, Blue Sky House now belongs to Clare. Though the former guest house has been empty for years, Clare feels a deep connection to Edith inside its walls, which are decorated with old photographs taken by Edith and her beloved husband, Joseph. Exploring the house, Clare finds two mysterious ledgers hidden beneath the kitchen sink. Edith, it seems, was no ordinary woman-- and Blue Sky House no ordinary place. With the help of her mother, Viviana, her surrogate mother, Cornelia Brown, and her former boyfriend and best friend, Dev Tremain, Clare begins to piece together the story of Blue Sky House-- a decades-old mystery more complex and tangled than she could have imagined. As she peels back the layers of Edith's life, Clare discovers a story of dark secrets, passionate love, heartbreaking sacrifice, and incredible courage. She also makes startling discoveries about herself: where she's come from, where she's going, and what--and who--she loves. Shifting between the 1950s and the present and told in the alternating voices of Edith and Clare, [this book] ... probes the deepest recesses of the human heart and illuminates the tender connections that bind our lives
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Clare’s wedding weekend—three days of perfect weather dappling every corner of a picturesque Blue Ridge resort—was filled with the people she loved the most. So why did she feel like she was on the verge of a huge mistake? After sneaking out of her bridal brunch to hide a panic attack, Clare bared her soul to Edith, a kindly older woman with the exact advice Clare needed to hear. The conversation crystallized something in Clare, who walked back into the resort and called off her wedding. Clare never thought she’d hear from Edith again, let alone be named as a beneficiary in her will, but Edith leaves Clare her house, a small beachfront inn in Delaware. Overwhelmed by Edith’s generosity, Clare looks into the history of the old house and finds far more than she ever imagined. De los Santos (Connect the Stars, 2015; The Precious One, 2015) brings her signature style, wit, and charm while weaving in beloved characters from her previous novels. Fans of Suzanne Finnamore and Marian Keyes will fall in love with the clarity and poetry in de los Santos’ voice. This tender, genuine, and joyful novel is one to savor. -- Turza, Stephanie (Reviewed 2/1/2018) (Booklist, vol 114, number 11, p26)
  • Love and mystery surround a darker thread about the safety of women in this complex and moving tale by de los Santos (Love Walked In). The novel’s two plots begin, respectively, on the day of Edith Herron’s wedding to Joseph in 1950 and the day before Clare Hobbes’s marriage to Zach Barfield in the present. At the outset, Edith’s life is suffused with light, from the sun on the water near her beach home in Antioch Beach, Del., to the joy that she and Joseph share in their life together. Clare, on the other hand, is hesitant to wed Zach; she is given courage to call it off when, in a chance meeting, Edith advises her that “no one should live with someone who scares her.” Three weeks later, Clare escapes Zach by fleeing to Blue Sky House, left to her unexpectedly by Edith upon her death. It is there, with the help of Dev Tremain, Clare’s lifelong friend and onetime love, that Clare begins to piece together clues about Edith’s past and the fact that the house was once a secret shelter for women in abusive situations. In delving into Edith’s past at Blue Sky House, they also make more personal discoveries relevant to their present. The author doesn’t sugarcoat the violence that the women have suffered, but she balances those passages with soaring descriptions of everything from the saltwater marshes to Dev’s smile. This novel is both lovely and powerful. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed 01/08/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 02, p)
  • Clare Hobbes is at a Virginia hotel for her wedding to Zach. Her uncertainty must be showing because both her mother, Viviana, and her almost-mother Cornelia seem to be offering her a chance to opt out. But Clare loves Zach and knows that he is always trying to do the right thing. An elderly woman at the hotel clarifies things a bit more for Clare, who faces a huge decision. Edith Herron, whose own life unfolds in alternating chapters starting in 1949, was a young bride with a bright future when circumstances took a tragic turn. The story of Edith and Clare's connection slowly starts to take shape when Clare is bequeathed Edith's Delaware beachfront home, Blue Sky House, and its long-held secrets. VERDICT De los Santos (Love Walked In; Belong to Me) here revisits the next generation of her beloved characters, moving the family saga forward with this engrossing story of unshakable love, personal ethics, and a commitment to life's larger truths.—Bette-Lee Fox, Library Journal --Bette-Lee Fox (Reviewed 11/01/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 18, p69)
  • Marital abuse is the central issue in de los Santos' (The Precious One, 2015, etc.) latest, which is made up of two intersecting stories: a contemporary woman is engaged to a man with possibly scary anger issues and, in the 1950s, another woman faces difficult choices after the death of her beloved husband. One day before Clare (who, along with other characters here, has appeared in previous de los Santos novels) is scheduled to marry good-looking lawyer Zach at a Virginia resort, an elderly stranger walks by while she's making centerpieces and says, "Courage, dear heart," which happens to be a quote from one of Clare's beloved Narnia books. The next morning, Clare finds herself talking in more depth to the stranger, Edith, who warns her not to live with someone who scares her. Already deeply apprehensive about marrying Zach because he has to work "so hard to be good," Clare takes Edith's advice and calls off the wedding. Edith dies shortly afterward and bequeaths her house on the Delaware coast to Clare. At loose ends after the non-wedding, Clare—who, unlike Zach, is naturally good as well as sensitive and loving—goes there to recover and to avoid Zach's borderline stalking. The novel moves back and forth between Clare's current romantic quandary and Edith's difficult life in the '50s: her idyllic but tragically brief marriage, her years as a young widow running a vacation boardinghouse, her affair with a handsome stranger from the city who involves her in his "relocation system" for women escaping abusive husbands, the risk she takes to help a young mother who has killed her violent husband in self-defense. Readers learn most of these details long before Clare figures them out, although her natural curiosity about Edith draws her and her best friend/former boyfriend, Dev, into Nancy Drew-like sleuthing. Their playful, increasingly romantic enjoyment of the adventure in uncovering Edith's past creates an odd contrast to the actual serious drama of Edith's life. De los Santos writes with disarming fluidity even when her plot takes far-fetched turns, but her heroine's inexhaustible perfection grows cloying. (Kirkus Reviews, January 15, 2018)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10618686
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1966-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
De los Santos, Marisa
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Inheritance and succession
  • Weddings
  • Guesthouses
  • Delaware
Target audience
general
Label
I'll be your blue sky, Marisa de los Santos
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Revisits characters from Love walked in and Belong to me
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
309 pages
Isbn
9780062431943
Lccn
2017010829
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)979994313
Label
I'll be your blue sky, Marisa de los Santos
Publication
Copyright
Note
Revisits characters from Love walked in and Belong to me
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
309 pages
Isbn
9780062431943
Lccn
2017010829
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)979994313

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...