The Resource I see you, Clare Mackintosh

I see you, Clare Mackintosh

Label
I see you
Title
I see you
Statement of responsibility
Clare Mackintosh
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"The author of the smash bestseller, I Let You Go, propels readers into a dark and claustrophobic thriller, in which a normal, everyday woman becomes trapped in the confines of her normal, everyday world... Every morning and evening, Zoe Walker takes thesame route to the train station, waits at a certain place on the platform, finds her favorite spot in the car, never suspecting that someone is watching her... It all starts with a classified ad. During her commute home one night, while glancing throughher local paper, Zoe sees her own face staring back at her, a grainy photo along with a phone number and listing for a website called findtheone.com. Other women begin appearing in the same ad, a different one every day, and Zoe realizes they've becomethe victims of increasingly violent crimes--including rape and murder. With the help of a determined cop, she uncovers the ad's twisted purpose...a discovery that turns her paranoia into full-blown panic. For now Zoe is sure that someone close to her hasset her up as the next target. And now that man on the train--the one smiling at Zoe from across the car--could be more than just a friendly stranger. He could be someone who has deliberately chosen her and is ready to make his next move
Title
I see you
Creator
Summary
Zoe Walker sees her picture in a personal ad for a dating website. At first she thinks there must be a mistake. She soon learns that other women whose pictures have appeared in these ads have been subjected to violent crimes. Zoe contacts the police. PC Kelly Smith, a disgraced former detective, works to find the mastermind behind the website and redeem herself. As each day passes Zoe becomes more and more paranoid and suspicious of everyone she meets. Told from three different viewpoints, the tension builds and kept me on the edge of my seat. -- Karen Zeibak for LibraryReads
Subject
Genre
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ While flipping through a newspaper during her morning commute, Zoe Walker spots herself featured in an obscure dating site’s classified ad. After efforts to contact the site prove fruitless, she compulsively checks the ads and finds a new woman featured daily. Zoe begins researching the other photos in an effort to control her mounting paranoia and is horrified to find that women from the ads have been victimized in crimes from theft to murder. Only British Transit Authority constable Kelly Swift takes Zoe’s fears seriously, but she comes with baggage. Ten years ago, Kelly’s promising future as a Sexual Offenses Unit detective was scrapped after she attacked a prisoner. After hearing Zoe’s concerns, Kelly calls in her last favor to secure assignment to the murder case, shunting aside fears that confronting her past will result in personal and professional destruction. Zoe’s practicality lends gut-clenching credence to her distress, creating sharp contrast to Kelly’s wavering stability, and the steadily thickening paranoia will leave readers questioning their comfortable routines. This follow-up to Mackintosh’s debut, I Let You Go (2016), is a well-crafted blend of calculated malevolence, cunning plot twists, and redemption that will appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah, Ruth Rendell, and Ruth Ware. -- Tran, Christine (Reviewed 12/15/2016) (Booklist, vol 113, number 8, p25)
  • /* Starred Review */ Divorced middle-aged mum Zoe Walker, the narrator of this outstanding psychological thriller from Mackintosh (I Let You Go), is stunned when, during her daily commute to work as bookkeeper/office manager at a London real estate firm, she spots a photo of herself in a newspaper ad for sex chat lines. But the real fear kicks in when she combs through earlier ads and recognizes one face as that of a recent crime victim. After another woman she recognizes from the ads is murdered, Zoe connects with police constable Kelly Swift, who’s chafing under a disciplinary demotion. As Kelly and the task force she worms her way onto race to crack the baffling case, an increasingly terrified Zoe starts to turn a suspicious eye on just about everyone in her life, including her solicitous live-in boyfriend and her overbearing boss. Although some shocking final twists don’t quite convince, Mackintosh scripts a hair-raising ride all the scarier because its premise—that our predictable routines make us easy targets—is sadly so plausible. Author tour. Agent: Sheila Crowley, Curtis Brown (U.K.). (Feb.)
			 --Staff (Reviewed 12/05/2016) (Publishers Weekly, vol 263, issue 49, p)
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2017
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10545246
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823.92
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Clare Mackintosh
Label
I see you, Clare Mackintosh
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
372 pages
Isbn
9781101988299
Isbn Type
: HRD
Lccn
2016032022
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...