Coverart for item
4.0 / 5
The Resource Her dark curiosity | Her dark curiosity, Megan Shepherd, (overdrive ebook)

Her dark curiosity | Her dark curiosity, Megan Shepherd, (overdrive ebook)

Label
Her dark curiosity
Title
Her dark curiosity
Statement of responsibility
Megan Shepherd
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Back in London after escaping from her father's island and the secrets she left behind, Juliet Moreau strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness
Member of
Title
Her dark curiosity
Creator
Contributor
Summary
Juliet struggles to forget Dr. Moreau's horrific legacy only to confront what she fears is one of her father's murderous creations and her own worsening illness
Subject
Member of
Genre
Story line
Pace
Tone
Review
  • Gr 8 Up — Megan Shepherd's deliciously dark and exciting sequel to The Madman's Daughter (HarperCollins, 2013) continues with Juliet's return to London after her escape from her father's island. Life is somewhat easier for Juliet now that she is back—a former colleague of her father's has taken her under his wing so that she does not want for anything, she has a job developing grafted rose bushes, and her friend Lucy has welcomed her with open arms. But not all is well. The serum her father, the infamous Dr. Moreau, developed to keep her symptoms at bay is no longer working and she cannot seem to perfect a new and stronger dose; she misses Montgomery, her old friend and new lover; and one of her father's monsters, Edward Prince, now known as Dr. Jekyll, has also returned to London. To make it worse, a serial killer, dubbed the Wolf of Whitechapel, is murdering people who have wronged her, and a Scotland Yard inspector keeps questioning her about her father. Somehow, Juliet holds the key but can she survive long enough to save the ones she loves and unmask the conspirators who are behind the terror? Shepherd masterfully blends yet another classic horror story into a new setting, and the continuing echoes of H. G. Wells's The Island of Dr. Moreau combined with Robert Louis Stevenson's The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde result in a book that resonates with evil and suspense. While the novel can be read independently of the first title, as enough of the backstory is given to make what is happening clear, readers will have a more satisfying experience if familiar with the previous installment. The psychological questions that Prince/Jekyll raises as to evil, desire, and nature vs. nurture add a depth of richness not often seen in young adult literature.—Janet Hilbun, University of North Texas --Janet Hilbun (Reviewed April 1, 2014) (School Library Journal, vol 60, issue 4, p173)
  • Juliet Moreau struggles with monsters, morals and family tragedy in this moving, if melodramatic sequel (The Madman's Daughter, 2013). Not content to relax in the well-appointed home of her guardian, professor von Stein, or to shop and gossip with her friend, Lucy Radcliffe, 17-year-old Juliet sneaks away to the slums to experiment in anatomy, botany and chemistry. Her father is gone—killed by her own hand—but his medical misconduct and her former poverty are not forgotten. When her former persecutors fall victim to a serial killer, Juliet suspects that someone or something made it off the island. Juliet finds herself torn again between her love for the faithful (if secretive) Montgomery and the tortured Edward Prince, who shifts between boy and Beast. Amid a whirlwind of romance, fancy dresses and death, Juliet uncovers a vast conspiracy that stretches into the highest ranks of society and touches everyone she knows. Although heavy-handed, Shepherd's unsubtle allusions to The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein draw readers' attention to the classics and may provoke discussions about medical ethics and split personalities. The experiments are more fiction than science, and Juliet contradicts her supposed delicacy by dispatching threats with chemistry and violence, but the fast pace of the story overpowers the minor imperfections. Secrets and mad scientists offer a gory gothic adventure. (Gothic thriller. 14 & up)(Kirkus Reviews, October 15, 2013)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10273678
Cataloging source
TEFOD
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
810
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 8
  • 12
Nature of contents
dictionaries
Series statement
The madman's daughter
Series volume
[2]
Target audience
adolescent
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Megan Shepherd
Label
Her Dark Curiosity
Authority link
http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/867172044
Link
http://ohdbks.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=C2ED60C6-4548-440D-B93C-E940913D2955
Publication
Creator
Note
Print version:
Overdrive ID
c2ed60c6-4548-440d-b93c-e940913d2955
Thumbnail
https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{C2ED60C6-4548-440D-B93C-E940913D2955}Img200.jpg
Coverart
https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{C2ED60C6-4548-440D-B93C-E940913D2955}Img100.jpg
Short Desc
<p>Inspired by The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this tantalizing sequel to Megan Shepherd's gothic suspense novel The Madman's Daughter explores the hidden natures of those we love and how far we'll go to save them from themselves. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray. </p><p>Back in London after her trip to Dr. Moreau's horrific island, Juliet is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget her father's legacy. But soon it's clear that someone&#8212;or something&#8212;hasn't forgotten her, as people close to Juliet start falling victim to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes. Has one of her father's creations also escaped the island?</p><p>As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, her past bubbling to the surface, and her life threatened by an obsessive killer&#8212;Juliet will be lucky to...
Description
<p>Inspired by The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this tantalizing sequel to Megan Shepherd's gothic suspense novel The Madman's Daughter explores the hidden natures of those we love and how far we'll go to save them from themselves. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray. </p><p>Back in London after her trip to Dr. Moreau's horrific island, Juliet is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget her father's legacy. But soon it's clear that someone&#8212;or something&#8212;hasn't forgotten her, as people close to Juliet start falling victim to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes. Has one of her father's creations also escaped the island?</p><p>As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, her past bubbling to the surface, and her life threatened by an obsessive killer&#8212;Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.</p>
Sample
https://samples.overdrive.com/her-dark-curiosity-c2ed60?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
Popularity
479
Rating
4.0
Media Type
eBook
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocm868664984
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/crossRefId
1329320
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/ikey
9780062128072
Isbn
9780062128058
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePartial
True
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)868664984

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...