Coverart for item
The Resource Half of What You Hear, Kristyn Kusek Lewis, (electronic resource)

Half of What You Hear, Kristyn Kusek Lewis, (electronic resource)

Label
Half of What You Hear
Title
Half of What You Hear
Statement of responsibility
Kristyn Kusek Lewis
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
From well-loved women's fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors—perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand. Greyhill, Virginia—refuge of old money, old mansions, and old-fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn't—just got a few new residents. When Bess Warner arrives in town with her husband Cole and their kids, she thinks she knows what to expect. Sure, moving to Cole's small hometown means she'll have to live across the street from her mother-in-law, and yes, there's going to be a lot to learn as they take over Cole's family's inn-keeping business, but Bess believes it will be the perfect escape from Washington. She needs it to be. After losing her White House job under a cloud of scandal, she hardly knows who she is anymore. But Bess quickly discovers that fitting in is easier said than done. Instead of the simpler life she'd banked on, she finds herself preoccupied by barbed questions from gossipy locals and her own worries over how her twins are acclimating at the town's elite private school. When the opportunity to write an article for the Washington Post's lifestyle supplement falls into Bess's lap, she thinks it might finally be her opportunity to find her footing here...even if the subject of the piece is Greyhill's most notorious resident. Susannah "Cricket" Lane, fruit of the town's deepest-rooted family tree, is a special sort of outsider, having just returned to Greyhill from New York after a decades-long hiatus. The long absence has always been the subject of suspicion, not that the eccentric Susannah cares what anyone thinks; as a matter of fact, she seems bent on antagonizing as many people as possible. But is Susannah being sincere with Bess—or is she using their strangely intense interview sessions for her to further an agenda that includes peeling back the layers of Greyhill's darkest secrets? As Bess discovers unsettling truths about Susannah and Greyhill at large, ones that bring her into the secrets of prior generations, she begins to learn how difficult it is to start over in a town that runs on talk, and that sometimes, the best way to find yourself is to uncover what everyone around you is hiding...
Summary
A novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Audio
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10761600
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lewis, Kristyn Kusek
Dewey number
813.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Candace Thaxton
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Thaxton, Candace
  • Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Literature
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Half of What You Hear, Kristyn Kusek Lewis, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780062909480
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
4b64afe3-c879-4702-8dc1-a3845daa784c
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
unknown
System details
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
  • OverDrive Listen
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Half of What You Hear, Kristyn Kusek Lewis, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780062909480
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
4b64afe3-c879-4702-8dc1-a3845daa784c
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
unknown
System details
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
  • OverDrive Listen
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...