The Resource Frostblood, Elly Blake

Frostblood, Elly Blake

Label
Frostblood
Title
Frostblood
Statement of responsibility
Elly Blake
Title variation
Frost blood
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who must use her powers of heat and flame to help two Frostblood rebels overthrow a maniacal Frostblood king"--
Member of
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • Grades 9-12 Seventeen-year-old Ruby Ottera is orphaned after watching her mother be murdered by the people she had been protecting Ruby from all along, called frostbloods. Ruby is thereby thrust into a life where friend and foe want to use her fire-wielding powers as a weapon—a fireblood in a kingdom ruled by frost. Driven by a prophecy, rebel frostbloods save Ruby from certain death, hoping that she will help them break the curse on their kingdom. Ruby is continuously torn between red-hot anger and a spark of fondness for her instructor, Arcus, a frostblood with a tragic past, as he trains her to fight for her life and his kingdom. Ruby’s thirst for revenge is seemingly thwarted when she’s captured again and forced to fight in an arena where a fireblood has never triumphed, while becoming an object of fascination for the king. This enchanting and fast-paced debut lights up the page with magic, romance, and action, all of which is expertly interwoven throughout the text. Readers will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series. -- Oppelt, Meghan (Reviewed 10/15/2016) (Booklist, vol 113, number 4, p54)
  • Gr 9 Up—Seventeen-year-old Ruby Otrera lives in a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies. Ruby is one of the last firebloods, second-class citizens of the kingdom of Tempesia. There, the ruling frostbloods are determined to locate and destroy all remaining firebloods in the realm. Ruby lives with her mother in a remote village, hiding her unpredictable powers of heat and flame. After the king's soldiers raid her small village and drag Ruby to prison, though, she is set on a dangerous and unexpected path. Blake's debut fantasy novel is a familiar tale about a young woman finding her way in a troubled and prejudiced world. With a few allies, including frost-wielding monks and a mysterious and irresistible masked warrior, the heroine becomes the key to a rebel plot to assassinate the king. Despite some formulaic plot elements, this is an enjoyable, fast-paced debut that blends romance into a story of suspenseful battles, royal prisons, and rebel schemes. VERDICT This series opener is perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and will delight those who love fantasy, adventure, and romance. A strong addition to any YA fantasy collection.—Ariel Birdoff, New York Public Library --Ariel Birdoff (Reviewed 11/01/2016) (School Library Journal, vol 62, issue 11, p98)
  • Seventeen-year-old Ruby Otrera is a Fireblood with a poorly controlled ability to create and control flame, but her kind have been outlawed and persecuted by the cold-wielding Frostbloods, who rule her land. After her true nature is discovered and her mother killed, Ruby is imprisoned, then freed by members of a rebellion seeking to defeat the tyrant Frost King. Ruby hones her skills with the aid of a sullen Frostblood named Arcus, only to be captured again, this time sent to fight as a gladiator for the king’s entertainment. This is a strong debut for Blake, though the overall structure and plot points will be familiar to fans of stories in which a specially skilled young woman is manipulated into overthrowing a corrupt regime, alongside untrustworthy allies and a sexy-yet-mysterious guy. But while the story hits some predictable beats, the overall execution is solid, and as the kickoff to Blake’s Frostblood Saga, it succeeds in laying down intriguing framework for the books to come. Ages 12–up. Agent: Suzie Townsend, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Jan.) --Staff (Reviewed 12/05/2016) (Publishers Weekly, vol 263, issue 49, p)
  • A young girl with the power of fire running through her veins must save a kingdom ruled by the evil Frost King.Ruby Otrera lives an isolated life with her mother, hiding her reviled power from the villagers nearby: she's a Fireblood. In a land ruled by Frostbloods, Firebloods are hunted. Ruby can barely control her powers, and when the Frost King's soldiers arrive, she can't stop them from killing her mother and locking her in Blackcreek Prison. Nearly half a year passes before two robed Frostbloods appear and offer her freedom in exchange for helping them remove the Frost King. Soon Ruby finds herself at Forwind Abbey in the care of monks. Brother Thistle tries to teach her how to control her powers in preparation for her task. Arcus, the only lay plotter involved, keeps his face hidden but makes his mistrust clear. As Ruby finds a new home at the abbey, soldiers continue to hunt for her. And it isn't long before she's made to face the throne and learn her true role in both the monks' and the Frost King's plans. Ruby's a spitfire who faces her challenges with grit, but her love interest and his surprises are predictable. Backed by a strong mythology, Ruby's story stands to be reinvigorated in the sequel if a dynamic villain is delivered and the romance takes a back seat. Ruby is relatively pale-skinned in comparison to blue-eyed Brother Thistle; racial difference in this fantasy world cuts along Fireblood/Frostblood lines. A slow-burning, classic tale with too few fireworks at the end. (Fantasy. 13 & up)(Kirkus Reviews, November 1, 2016)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10548467
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Blake, Elly
Index
no index present
LC call number
PZ7.1.B586
LC item number
Fr 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Frostblood saga
Series volume
bk. 1
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Magic
  • Ability
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Frostblood, Elly Blake
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
376 pages
Isbn
9780316273183
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2016004451
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)949143309
Label
Frostblood, Elly Blake
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
376 pages
Isbn
9780316273183
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2016004451
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)949143309

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...