Coverart for item
The Resource Every time you go away, Beth Harbison

Every time you go away, Beth Harbison

Label
Every time you go away
Title
Every time you go away
Statement of responsibility
Beth Harbison
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Willa has never fully recovered from the sudden death of her husband, Ben. She became an absent mother to her young son, Jamie, unable to comfort him while reeling from her own grief. Now, years after Ben's death, Willa finally decides to return to the beach house where he passed. It's time to move on and put the Ocean City, Maryland, house on the market. When Willa arrives, the house is in worse shape than she could have imagined, and the memories of her time with Ben are overwhelming. They met at this house and she sees him around every corner. Literally. Ben's ghost keeps reappearing, trying to start conversations with Willa. And she can't help talking back. To protect her sanity, Willa enlists Jamie, her best friend Kristin, and Kristin's daughter Kelsey to join her for one last summer at the beach. As they explore their old haunts, buried feelings come to the surface, Jamie and Kelsey rekindle their childhood friendship, and Willa searches for the chance to finally say goodbye to her husband and to reconnect with her son. Every Time You Go Away is a heartfelt, emotional story about healing a tragic loss, letting go, and coming together as a family"--
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • Three years have passed and still Willa mourns the sudden death of her husband, Ben. He died while working on their beach house in Ocean City, Maryland, leaving Willa to care for their teenage son, Jamie. Willa supports herself and Jamie on her salary, but selling the beach house would give her some much-needed financial security. Once she arrives in Ocean City to pack up and sell the beloved house, she is terrified to confront the decades of happy memories that were shared there. She isn’t surprised to find that the house needs a few repairs, and the tedium of patching, painting, and packing helps calm some of the emotional chaos. But Ben’s presence seems closer than ever in the old house . . . maybe too close. A heartwarming story about love transcending time and space, Harbison’s (One Less Problem without You, 2016) latest will appeal to fans of Sarah Healy and Nancy Thayer. Drenching readers in Willa’s salt- and sun-soaked memories, Harbison avoids melodrama, instead tempering tragedy with wry humor, heartfelt introspection, and an unexpected romance. -- Turza, Stephanie (Reviewed 5/15/2018) (Booklist, vol 114, number 18, p21)
  • Jane Holcomb's cheating husband got the beach house in the divorce settlement, then died ten months after the papers were signed. So what's he doing back there, haunting her as she tries to clean up the house for sale? He's protesting that he realizes what a mistake he made—she was his one true love—and getting all huffy when she seems to be falling for the hunky contractor. From the New York Times best-selling author. --Barbara Hoffert (Reviewed 02/15/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 3, p63)
  • A benign ghost story in which a young widow is consoled (and prodded) by the spirit of her late husband. Willa Bennett's husband, Ben, succumbed to a rare heart condition at the age of 36. Three years have passed, and Willa, a schoolteacher who lives with her 17-year-old son, Jamie, in suburban Maryland, hasn't really moved on. What's more, she worries that while wallowing in her own grief, she has failed to provide Jamie with the support he needs. In the interest of jump-starting her life, Willa decides to fix up and sell the family beach house in Ocean City, which happens to be where Ben died. She enlists her best friend, Kristin, to help out; Jamie eventually joins them, as does Kristin's daughter, Kelsey. Ben shows up too, but in ghostly form, visible only to Willa. While assuring her of his undying love, he also tries to persuade her to carry on without him—even to the point of finding a new love. Harbison (If I Could Turn Back Time, 2016, etc.) alternates between Willa's story and Jamie's. She proves adept at plumbing the adolescent psyche: Jamie is an appealing, authentic character. Harbison's writing, meanwhile, is relaxed and conversational, enlivened with the occasional pop-culture reference ("We had been a happy family...we were the Cleavers, the Petries, the Flintstones without the rocks"). The narrative feels a little padded—apart from Ben's ghostly visitations, nothing much happens until the very end. By that time, the reader has a pretty good idea how things will play out. This is pathos light; a number of scenes—including Kristin's walking in on Willa chatting with her deceased husband—are played for laughs. Nothing unexpected or particularly original in this mild novel, but it's a pleasant, sometimes-comforting read. (Kirkus Reviews, May 15, 2018)
Assigning source
Publisher marketing
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10677150
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Harbison, Elizabeth M
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Widows
  • Mothers and sons
  • Families
  • Grief
  • Maryland
Target audience
general
Label
Every time you go away, Beth Harbison
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
293 pages
Isbn
9781250043832
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2018001445
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)990355853
Label
Every time you go away, Beth Harbison
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
293 pages
Isbn
9781250043832
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2018001445
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)990355853

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...