Coverart for item
The Resource Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith

Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith

Label
Dimestore : a writer's life
Title
Dimestore
Title remainder
a writer's life
Statement of responsibility
Lee Smith
Title variation
Dimestore
Title variation remainder
a writers life
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The novelist traces her early years in the small coal mining town of Grundy, Virginia, in the Appalachian Mountains, where she first learned to tell stories by listening to the customers at her father's dimestore
Summary
Evenly divided between a book about Smith’s process and her life, first as a Southern mountain child and, later, as the parent of a schizophrenic child, this book is interesting and compelling. Despite being surrounded by loving family and being blessed with an active imagination, Lee copes with a mentally ill mother. Later, her son’s mental illness and early death brings her to the breaking point but she is saved by her writing. This is a read-alike for Karr’s The Liars Club. It desperately needs a cinematic translation for it’s elegant and evocative writing. -- Lois Gross for LibraryReads
Writing style
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2016
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10473102
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
975.5752
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a writer's life
Label
Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Contents
Preface: raised to leave -- Dimestore -- Recipe box -- Kindly nervous -- Lady lessons -- Marble cake and moonshine -- Big river -- On Lou's porch -- Lightning storm -- Driving Miss Daisy crazy -- Goodbye to the sunset man -- Blue heaven -- A life in books-- Angels passing -- The little locksmith
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
202 p.
Isbn
9781616205027
Isbn Type
: HRD
Lccn
2015023739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Label
Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Contents
Preface: raised to leave -- Dimestore -- Recipe box -- Kindly nervous -- Lady lessons -- Marble cake and moonshine -- Big river -- On Lou's porch -- Lightning storm -- Driving Miss Daisy crazy -- Goodbye to the sunset man -- Blue heaven -- A life in books-- Angels passing -- The little locksmith
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
202 p.
Isbn
9781616205027
Isbn Type
: HRD
Lccn
2015023739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...