The Resource Caroline's secret, Amy Lillard, (overdrive ebook)

Caroline's secret, Amy Lillard, (overdrive ebook)

Label
Caroline's secret
Title
Caroline's secret
Statement of responsibility
Amy Lillard
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Caroline Hostetler arrived in Oklahoma determined to forge a new life for herself and her daughter, Emma. As a single mother, she values the warmth and safety she's found in close-knit Wells Landing. She's even caught the eye of a handsome newcomer--a man who just may be the partner she longs for and the father Emma deserves. But the arrival of an Englisher threatens to lay bare the secrets she's worked so hard to leave behind. . .After losing his life-long sweetheart, Andrew Fitch moved to Wells Landing to work in his uncle's furniture business and nurse his broken heart. Finding love again seems all but impossible--until he meets Caroline and Emma. But his plans to join their lives together may be shattered when the truth of Caroline's past comes to light--unless, together, they can learn the true meaning of sacrifice and forgiveness
Member of
Title
Caroline's secret
Creator
Summary
Starting a new life in Wells Landing, a small Amish community in Oklahoma, single mother Caroline Hostetler must learn the true meaning of sacrifice and forgiveness when the arrival of an Englisher threatens to expose the secrets she has worked so hard to hide
Subject
Member of
Genre
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • In this sweetly inspirational contemporary love story, Lillard (Gabriel’s Bride ) sets up two romances in a small Oklahoma tourist community. Caroline Hostetler, a young Amish mother from Tennessee, not only grew up Plain, but also committed herself to the church. There’s just a small problem: the Amish of Wells Landing, where she arrived after fleeing her home two years ago, believe something about her that may not be true. It’s a secret that threatens both her and her toddler daughter. She’s taken in by Amish baker Esther Lapp, an older widow in love with the town’s woodcrafter, Abe Fitch. When Andrew Fitch, Abe’s nephew and a young Amish man with a broken heart, enters the picture, Andrew and Caroline’s friendship quickly turns into something more, with the help of their matchmaking elders. Rich with the trappings of Amish culture and tradition, the novel informs as well as entertains. Agent: Mary Sue Seymour, the Seymour Agency (Aug.) --Staff (Reviewed June 2, 2014) (Publishers Weekly, vol 261, issue 22, p)
  • Caroline Hostetler disgraced her Amish family by becoming pregnant while unmarried. Her baby daughter was the direct result of an illicit relationship with Trey, an Englischer who left before he realized her situation. Shunned by the conservative community in which she was raised, Caroline decides to forge a life for herself and her small daughter on the West Coast, but Caroline becomes ill during the bus journey and stops in Wells Landing, OK. There, she finds friends in the Amish community and begins to rebuild her life, including meeting Andrew, a man she could truly love. But Trey resurfaces, and Caroline must choose whether to leave her Amish world and marry Trey, or stay with Andrew in Oklahoma. VERDICT Lillard's (Saving Gideon; Katie's Choice ) evocative prose, well-drawn protagonists, and detailed settings result in an inspirational story of romance, faith, and trust. Caroline's search for forgiveness and happiness will appeal to fans of Wanda Brunstetter and Beverly Lewis. --Christine Sharbrough (Reviewed June 15, 2014) (Library Journal, vol 139, issue 11, p81)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10324637
Cataloging source
TEFOD
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
Series statement
Wells Landing
Series volume
bk. 1
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Amy Lillard
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariation
Carolines secret
Label
Caroline's secret, Amy Lillard, (overdrive ebook)
Link
Publication
Copyright
Overdrive ID
f08f011b-6faf-4bf0-845c-5fa3c0525a26
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn883126236
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781420134544
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Publisher number
EB00222711
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)883126236

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...