Coverart for item
The Resource By cook or by crook, Maya Corrigan

By cook or by crook, Maya Corrigan

Label
By cook or by crook
Title
By cook or by crook
Statement of responsibility
Maya Corrigan
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Haunted by the car accident that ended her career as a cookbook publicist, Val Deniston has traded in the chaos of New York City for a quieter life near the Chesapeake Bay. Living with her curmudgeonly grandfather in the tourist town of Bayport is hardly glamorous, but she enjoys working at the Cool Down Cafe at the local fitness club, and she finally has time to work on her long-planned cookbook. But when one of the club's patrons is found dead, she'll have to cook up a scheme to find the killer. As the number of suspects rises like crabs in a bucket, it's out of the pan and into the fire for Val. If she can't find the culprit soon, she might as well be chum in the water
Member of
Storyline
Writing style
Review
Cookbook publicist Val Deniston left New York under a cloud after she was involved in a terrible car accident that injured a celebrity chef. Now she lives in Bayport, MD, with her grandfather, while working at a fitness club snack bar and gathering material for her own cookbook. On the morning that she is scheduled to meet real estate agent Nadia, who wants to hire her to cater an event, Val arrives at the club and finds Nadia's body, stabbed through the neck with a wooden tennis racket. Is that a clue? Unfortunately, the prime suspect is Monique, Val's cousin, who accused Nadia of having an affair with her husband. Then there's Gunnar, the debonair visitor from DC, and, Luke, Val's old boyfriend from high school. VERDICT Lots of suspects abound and the puzzle solution is deftly handled in this charming cozy debut that is appealingly set on Maryland's Eastern Shore. With recipes included, this is definitely a starter for fans of Diane Mott Davidson, Lou Jane Temple, and Virginia Rich. [Corrigan was a winner of the 2013 Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Unpublished Mystery/Suspense for The Art of Deceit .—Ed.] --Viccy Kemp (Reviewed November 1, 2014) (Library Journal, vol 139, issue 18, p62)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10379366
Cataloging source
YDXCP
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Corrigan, Maya
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Five-ingredient mystery
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women cooks
  • Murder
Label
By cook or by crook, Maya Corrigan
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Includes recipes
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
18 cm.
Edition
First Kensington mass market edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9781617731389
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)870199714
Label
By cook or by crook, Maya Corrigan
Publication
Note
Includes recipes
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
18 cm.
Edition
First Kensington mass market edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9781617731389
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)870199714

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...