Coverart for item
The Resource Boys of blur, N.D. Wilson, (electronic resource)

Boys of blur, N.D. Wilson, (electronic resource)

Label
Boys of blur
Title
Boys of blur
Statement of responsibility
N.D. Wilson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee and Louis Sachar's Holes will enjoy this story about a boy and the ancient secrets that hide deep in the heart of the Florida everglades near a place called Muck City. When Charlie moves from Palm Beach to the small town of Taper, Florida, he discovers a different world. Pinned between the everglades and the swampy banks of Lake Okeechobee, the small town produces sugar cane . . . and the fastest runners in the country. Kids chase muck rabbits in the fields while the cane is being burned and harvested. Dodging flames and blades and breathing smoke, they run down the rabbits for three dollars a skin. And when they can do that, running a football is easy. But there are things in the swamp, roaming the cane at night, that cannot be explained, and they seem connected to sprawling mounds older than the swamps. Together with his step-second cousin Herman "Cotton" Mack, the fastest boy on the muck, Charlie hunts secrets in the glades and on the muck flats where the cane grows secrets as old as the soft earth, secrets that haunted, tripped, and trapped the original native tribes, ensnared conquistadors, and buried runaway slaves. Secrets only the muck knows
Summary
When his stepfather moves them to Taper, Florida, in the Everglades, twelve-year-old Charlie discovers a secret world hidden within the sugar cane fields, as well as new family connections and friendships
Theme
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10316523
Cataloging source
RECBK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wilson, Nathan D
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
LC call number
PZ7.W69744
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
680
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 3
  • 6
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Swamps
  • Sugarcane
  • Cousins
  • Stepfamilies
  • Families
  • Paranormal fiction
  • Everglades (Fla.)
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Boys of blur, N.D. Wilson, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780449816752
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
185fdd37-8fb6-44a1-948b-55dcec356c45
Publisher number
EB00167597
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • 1934572
  • (OCoLC)869386340
  • (OCoLC)ocn869386340
  • 1934572
Label
Boys of blur, N.D. Wilson, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Copyright
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780449816752
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
185fdd37-8fb6-44a1-948b-55dcec356c45
Publisher number
EB00167597
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • 1934572
  • (OCoLC)869386340
  • (OCoLC)ocn869386340
  • 1934572

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...