Coverart for item
The Resource All the beautiful people we once knew : a novel, Edward Carlson

All the beautiful people we once knew : a novel, Edward Carlson

Label
All the beautiful people we once knew : a novel
Title
All the beautiful people we once knew
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Edward Carlson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For fans of Don DeLillo and Joseph O'Neill, an enthralling debut about the one percent, what they'll do to stay on top, and the callous gaze they turn on those below them. Stephen Harker is a disillusioned associate at Kilgore LLP, litigating on behalf of multinational companies such as insurance giant WorldScore, underwriter of a contractor that supplies private soldiers to the US military. Harker's charismatic, womanizing boss assigns him a case defending WorldScore against a lawsuit filed by Major Michael "Bud" Thomas, an Air Force veteran, injured military contractor, and single dad seeking workers' compensation benefits for PTSD and other injuries suffered while employed in Afghanistan. Fearing that honoring his claims will open the floodgate of payouts to returning soldiers, WorldScore demands that Harker defeat Thomas at all costs. When Harker turns the firm's full legal power on the wounded veteran, he finds himself in an existential downward spiral and a desperate relationship with his boss's bohemian ex-wife until he is confronted with a final act of redemption. All the Beautiful People We Once Knew is a riveting insider's indictment of the world of the corporate elite and the savage determination with which they fight to maintain control of their profits. In a society where the very institutions that should support our returning veterans instead view them with suspicion, this stunning debut is a grim reflection on the ever-growing rift between the classes"--
  • "Attorney Stephen Harker is tasked with blocking the case of Major John Thomas, a veteran, former contract soldier, and divorced father seeking workers' compensation for PTSD and injuries suffered while employed by private security firm FreedomQuest in the Afghan war zone. This sparks an existential downward spiral and a desperate relationship with his boss's bohemian ex-wife until he must choose whether to make one last act of redemption"--
Storyline
Writing style
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10573408
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Carlson, Edward
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Veterans
  • Corporations
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Insurance companies
Label
All the beautiful people we once knew : a novel, Edward Carlson
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
281 pages
Isbn
9781510716315
Isbn Type
(hardcover : acid-free paper)
Lccn
2017013505
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)989862321
Label
All the beautiful people we once knew : a novel, Edward Carlson
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
281 pages
Isbn
9781510716315
Isbn Type
(hardcover : acid-free paper)
Lccn
2017013505
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)989862321

Library Locations

  • Delaware County District LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...