Coverart for item
The Resource A Gentleman's Murder, Christopher Huang, (electronic resource)

A Gentleman's Murder, Christopher Huang, (electronic resource)

Label
A Gentleman's Murder
Title
A Gentleman's Murder
Statement of responsibility
Christopher Huang
Title variation
gentlemans murder
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Now in development for television with Endeavor Content "An auspicious debut mystery." — Booklist "Recalls the best of Golden Age detective fiction." —Andy Lewis, The Hollywood Reporter "Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang." —Rhys Bowen, New York Times -bestselling author of The Tuscan Child "A must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." —Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library "Will please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." —Sarah Nivala, Book Soup The year is 1924. The cobblestoned streets of St. James ring with jazz as Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity. London's back alleys, however, are filled with broken soldiers and still enshadowed by the lingering horrors of the Great War. Only a few years removed from the trenches of Flanders himself, Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant's head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past." Eric is certain that one of his fellow members is the murderer: but who? Captain Mortimer Wolfe, the soldier's soldier thrice escaped from German custody? Second Lieutenant Oliver Saxon, the brilliant codebreaker? Or Captain Edward Aldershott, the steely club president whose Savile Row suits hide a frightening collision of mustard gas scars? Eric's investigation will draw him far from the marbled halls of the Britannia, to the shadowy remains of a dilapidated war hospital and the heroin dens of Limehouse. And as the facade of gentlemenhood cracks, Eric faces a Matryoshka doll of murder, vice, and secrets pointing not only to the officers of his own club but the very investigator assigned by Scotland Yard
Summary
The year is 1924. The cobblestoned streets of St. James ring with jazz as Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity. London's back alleys, however, are filled with broken soldiers and still enshadowed by the lingering horrors of the Great War. Only a few years removed from the trenches of Flanders himself, Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant’s head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past."
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10733735
Cataloging source
BT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Huang, Christopher
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Thriller
  • Historical Fiction
Target audience
adult
Label
A Gentleman's Murder, Christopher Huang, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781947848030
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
b10a4c53-57d2-41dd-b82e-67a596bc55b0
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • OverDrive Read
Label
A Gentleman's Murder, Christopher Huang, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781947848030
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
b10a4c53-57d2-41dd-b82e-67a596bc55b0
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...