Coverart for item
The Resource A Door in the Earth, Amy Waldman, (electronic resource)

A Door in the Earth, Amy Waldman, (electronic resource)

Label
A Door in the Earth
Title
A Door in the Earth
Statement of responsibility
Amy Waldman
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
F rom the author of the national bestseller The Submission comes the journey of a young Afghan-American woman trapped between her ideals and the complicated truth in this "penetrating" ( O, Oprah Magazine ), "stealthily suspenseful," ( Booklist, starred review), "breathtaking and achingly nuanced" ( Kirkus , starred review) novel for readers of Cutting for Stone and The Reluctant Fundamentalist. Parveen Shams, a college senior in search of a calling, feels pulled between her charismatic and mercurial anthropology professor and the comfortable but predictable Afghan-American community in her Northern California hometown. When she discovers a bestselling book called Mother Afghanistan , a memoir by humanitarian Gideon Crane that has become a bible for American engagement in the country, she is inspired. Galvanized by Crane's experience, Parveen travels to a remote village in the land of her birth to join the work of his charitable foundation. When she arrives, however, Crane's maternity clinic, while grandly equipped, is mostly unstaffed. The villagers do not exhibit the gratitude she expected to receive. And Crane's memoir appears to be littered with mistakes, or outright fabrications. As the reasons for Parveen's pilgrimage crumble beneath her, the U.S. military, also drawn by Crane's book, turns up to pave the solde road to the village, bringing the war in their wake. When a fatal ambush occurs, Parveen must decide whether her loyalties lie with the villagers or the soldiers — and she must determine her own relationship to the truth. Amy Waldman, who reported from Afghanistan for the New York Times after 9/11, has created a taut, propulsive novel about power, perspective, and idealism, brushing aside the dust of America's longest-standing war to reveal the complicated truths beneath. A Door in the Earth is the rarest of books, one that helps us understand living history through poignant characters and unforgettable storytelling
Summary
An Afghan-American college student in California travels to a remote village in Afghanistan to work for a professor's charitable foundation and after surviving a horrific bombing must side with either the villagers or the American soldiers
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10779886
Cataloging source
SALS
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1969-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Waldman, Amy
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Literature
Target audience
adult
Label
A Door in the Earth, Amy Waldman, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780316452670
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
f22f70ca-dec4-4838-876c-dbb895c2ab43
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Label
A Door in the Earth, Amy Waldman, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780316452670
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
f22f70ca-dec4-4838-876c-dbb895c2ab43
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

  • Delaware Main LibraryBorrow it
    84 East Winter Street, Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.299672 -83.064923
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    7171 Gooding Blvd., Delaware, OH, 43015, US
    40.190037 -83.027387
  • Ostrander BranchBorrow it
    75 North Fourth Street, Ostrander, OH, 43061, US
    40.267330 -83.216989
  • Powell BranchBorrow it
    460 South Liberty Street, Powell, OH, 43065, US
    40.149379 -83.073659
Processing Feedback ...